Updates and Things to Come!

Now its been just over a year since my last post and lots has happened.

Photo Creds: Kevin Smith

I named this blog The Sporadic Journal of a Horse Girl with a heavy emphasis on the sporadic part, because, as everyone knows, life gets busy. But in just a few days I start out on another adventure and I figured I should bring you up to speed before then.

Now last summer Antheia and I did make it to a couple events but both times she decided that stadium jumps were evil and not to be trusted. So we are going to call those good learning experiences and move on.

Photo Creds: John Sinclair

Then in August she caught her ankle on a loose piece of wire out in the field and got a pretty bad cut that wouldn’t heal and grew a large amount of proud flesh. So there was about four months of battling that in which time I did not ride very much.

Mustangs. Cleo, Occasio, and Myrnah.

I did get a leg over Occasio that summer and while we spent a little time there he just wasn’t safe. He has a very reactionary side to him and definitely needs to just grow up a little more.

Photo Creds: Elsa Sinclair

So now he is living with a mustang stud that is my moms project currently and they are best buddies.

Photo Creds: Elsa Sinclair

(you can read more about that project on her blog equineclarity.com) I still play with him occasionally but for the most part he is getting to hang out and be a boy while my mom puts some time into him with the idea that she will try and start him. I put 400 hours of time into Occasio and I am proud and grateful for very moment of that but I simply lack both the time and experience to do him justice at this stage of his training. Eventually I hope that he will come along well enough that I can come back in and help with the riding.

As winter rolled around and Antheia was finally healed (about January) we decided to move to a different barn as all of our fields flood and there is very little space to ride. Luckily a friend had an open space and we moved about 20 minutes away to a wonderful barn with a covered arena. Antheia made fast friends with the three other horses there, one of which is a very small pony, and we had a fantastic winter there. Antheia slowly built up her strength again and got comfortable in a walled arena. We have continued to stay there throughout the spring and we are both very happy with all the horses and people there.

Now for the exciting part. A few months ago I applied to be a working student with quite a few eventers across the country and was accepted by some of my favorites. After lots of talking to them and deliberation I made my decision. I am very excited to say that I will be flying to Florida on Monday to work with Joe Meyer! (Update, I am posting this from the airport on Monday morning while waiting for a delayed flight)

Antheia will be staying here in the care of my good friends that I have been riding with all winter. I will miss her very much as I will be gone for the whole summer (returning for my senior year) but I know she will be well taken care of and loved.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑